Indian Railway main logo Welcome to Indian Railways
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About BLW


Loco Portal

Tender Information

Vendor Information

News & Events

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Recent Milestones & Future Plans

Recent Milestones (2020-21):

  • 285 locomotives have been manufactured in FY 2020-21. This includes 275 electric, 2 Export and 8 NRC Diesel locomotives.
  • First ever manufacturing of dual traction locomotive WDAP5.
  • BLW has delivered 27 locos to NRCs worth ₹ 309 Cr during 2019-20. This includes 7 export (Srilanka) loco.

At present BLW have following certifications:

  • ISO 9001
  • ISO 14001
  • ISO 45001
  • ISO 50001
  • ISO 3834
  • GreenCo Silver Rating
  • NABL Accreditation
  • 5 S
  • IRIS     

BLW have manufactured 9215 locomotives (all types) till 31st Oct-’2021 since its inception of production. It includes 2467 HHP, 908 electric, 171 export and 629 locos for NRC.

Future Plan:

  • 386 electric locomotive and 4 Export locomotives have been planned to manufacture in 2021‑22.

Electric Loco Production Performance:

BLW has successfully transformed itself from being a diesel loco manufacturer to an electric loco manufacturer while maintaining excellent industrial relations. From manufacturing 02 units in 2016-17, unit has scaled in just three-four years, by a factor of 150.

Active co-operation of employees and their high level of motivation enabled BLW to increase its output significantly. It is depicted below:


Source : Welcome to BLW Official Website CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 03-11-2021  

  Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.